This week’s interview is with Aimee. You can follow her on Instagram @aimeevlog and she has a brilliant YouTube Vlog covering all aspects of the adoption process Aimee Vlog

Introduce yourself and your family

My name is Aimee, I’m currently 27 years old. After achieving an early childhood degree and deciding that primary teaching wasn’tt for me, I began my career in an incredible day nursery chain. Family is a huge part of my life and adoption has always been on the cards for me.

My husband is James, 29 years old and the most laid back individual you’ll ever meet. Jay works as a pub manager and is the light to any dark, the silver lining to any rain cloud and my absolute soul mate.

Casey is our oldest child, currently two and a half years old. He came to us almost two years ago through traditional adoption and is absolutely the best thing to ever happen to us. He is the most amazing big brother to his sister and has my husband and I’s sense of humour down to a T!

Ceira is our second and youngest child at one and a half years old. She moved in with us on a foster to adopt placement shortly after her birth. She has opened our eyes even further to parenthood, showing us every single day of newborn life & how much more hearts grow after each child!

What area of the UK do you live in?

We live in the Midlands.

Was your agency a local authority or voluntary agency?

Local authority.

Did you read any adoption stories before you started? If so where? (eg blog, Instagram, books

I followed a lot of US YouTube channels for inspiration (Phil&Alex, TheStaufferlife to name a couple)

What was your biggest worry before you started?

Having such little control over the process and leaving it in the hands of almost strangers.

How long did the process take from the point of deciding you wanted to adopt to your child(ren) coming home?

Nine months.

What age and number of children were you approved for? Were you matched to a different age or number of children from this?

We were approved for two children 0-4 years. Our children were within this age group.

How did the matching process work? Did you look at lots of profiles?

Because we were open to sibling groups, our social workers had our match in mind before panel and it was clearly meant to be. We always told ourselves we wouldn’t say yes to the first profile we saw unless it felt perfect…but it did!

What has been the most difficult part about the process?

I found the process emotionally traumatic, especially foster to adopt and facilitating contact. These things were really hard on me, especially as a new mum and a sudden mum of two.

Have you needed to access additional help and support from your agency since your child came home?  If so, what and did it meet your needs?

Nothing as of yet.

What has been your best memory since your child(ren) came home?

Every time my children look at each other and make a sibling connection. Every time they are sweet to each other and every time they bicker. That is exactly why they should be with each other.

If you could go back and have a conversation with yourself about the process before you started, what would you tell yourself?

Your children are out there…in the world or not yet. They will come to you at the right time, no matter how obscure it might seem.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here